Joint Investigation (Behind the Scenes)

Friday Feature: Today we are pleased to welcome Terri Reed!

Thumbnail.ThumbnailServlet

Thank you Team Love on the Run for inviting me here today.

In my July release, JOINT INVESTIGATION, I tackle the grisly subject of a serial killer (I tried to keep the graphic nature of the crimes to a minimum). The idea for this story was sparked several years ago when I watched an episode of 48 Hours profiling a stretch of road along Highway 16 between Prince George and Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada that has been a source of much heartache and fear. 

Between the years of 1969 and 2011, law enforcement has estimated that at least 18 women of varying ages have been murdered or have disappeared along this stretch of highway that had been dubbed Highway of Tears. An American convict who died in an Oregon prison in 2006 has been linked to several of the victims through DNA. But there are still other murders yet unsolved. 

I remember the horror I felt, still feel, during the airing of the show. And sad to say this scenario isn’t the only one of its kind.  A search of the Internet brings up many similar crimes in many different countries and throughout the ages, some solved, but many unsolved. 

For my story, I wanted to get into the mind of my villain. What would drive someone to commit such horrendous crimes? I read many psychological reports and essays on the mindset of a killer to help me develop my villain. It was the stuff of nightmares, many of which I had during the months I wrote this book.  Needless to say blending in a romance proved to be a challenge. However, FBI agent Sami Bennett and RCMP Drew Kelley are people of faith and showing their belief in God and in each other made their story worth telling.

group 11 022Visit Terri Reed’s site to join the celebration of her release and enter her July giveaway.

Award winning, multi-published author Terri Reed discovered the wonderful world of fiction at an early age and declared she would one day write a book. Now she’s fulfilling that dream by writing for Love Inspired. She is a member of both Romance Writers of America and American Christian Fiction Writers.

One thought on “Joint Investigation (Behind the Scenes)

  1. I need to read all of July’s Love Inspired Suspence. I aldo need to go buy ladt months as well. I m ust read this lol. This is a must read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

