The Making of a Novel

Hi all! Lisa Phillips here. Summer is blazing, the kids are going back and forth between hyper and exhausted and my husband is now working full time for the church (and putting the drywall up in my office.)How about you?

Would you believe me if I told you that my books start out as this?

20150707_072643

The blank page – you probably believe that. But squares?

I’m a pretty structured person when it comes to organizing, so I like to know where every flash of inspiration is going to land.

Once I’ve got my squares down, I go back to a notebook and throw stuff down on paper. Usually I work through a writing book, like KM Weiland’s “Outlining your novel.” (the workbook). The questions help me focus my ideas into usable material.

20150707_072824

Once I’ve scribbled to my heart’s content (yesterday it was with sparkly gel pens), I go to my squares and fill them in, then to my computer and write a chapter-by-chapter outline–each time through, adding more and more detail. It just makes that first draft go faster.

20150707_072912

Some writers are what they call “seat of the pants” writers, who go wherever their imagination takes them, but I’m an outliner (in a SERIOUS way). Neither is wrong, they both have their pro’s and con’s.

So this is my little plug for the TEAM LOVE ON THE RUN box set #2 – FALLING HARD which will be out this fall. (Did you see that? “Fall.” Did you see what we did there?) Anyway, I’m giddy-excited right now, because I’m still in that fresh and new stage and I haven’t got to the actual “work” part of writing yet.

That’ll be later.

20150707_072953

So how about you?

Are you hyper-organized like me, or a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants person like some other Team Love on the Run authors who shall remain nameless *cough*Heather Woodhaven*cough*?

Leave a Reply

